Food For Ward: connecting the dots

Toronto is a big City and sometimes our good food work seems even bigger.

Food Forward is here to help you connect you to the initiatives happening City-wide, but also in your own neighbourhood. For those established or getting started, we are building and supporting the growth of networks, people, and resources to build more connected, resilient, and partnered networks of good food and food justice work.

With a City broken into municipal wards, the Food For Ward Project is a ward-based undertaking to avocate, educate, and connect in different parts of the City. We are bringing together good food projects, small businesses, and food activists to learn and work together in different wards, to map initiatives, and host meetings and events like Foodie Drinks as opportunities to connect. Our local reps are connected with existing and budding initiatives and networks in these areas to be our eyes and ears across Toronto and can be of assistance for you to connect or get involved.

Find your ward!

Food For Ward has a Google Group email listserv to foster connections and share ideas/resources among neighbourhood food security/justice networks. Join from the link or email info@pushfoodforward.com to be added to the group.

Many currently exist:

Stonegate Food Access Committee (ward 5), South Etobicoke Food Security Partnership (ward 6), Black Creek Food Justice Action Network (ward 8), Bathurst-Finch Network Food Action Team (ward 10), Weston-Mt. Dennis Food Action Team (ward 11), Parkdale Food Network (ward 14), Lawrence Heights Food Justice Working Group (ward 15), Regent Park Food Partnership (ward 28), Riverdale Food Working Group (30), Fairview Food Security Network (ward 33), Victoria Village Food Connections Network (Ward 34), Malvern (ANC) Food Advisory Committee (ward 42)

In these wards, feel free to contact our reps and join these Facebook groups:

Etobicoke Lakeshore Ward 5, Councillor Peter Milczyn (Islington, Stonegate-Queensway, West Mall, Markland Wood, The Kingsway) - Michelle Bucek: michelle@pushfoodforward.com

York West Ward 7, Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti (Humber Summit, Emery Village) - Roland Lelaj: roland@dfrc.ca

York West Ward 8, Councillor Anthony Perruzza (Black Creek, Jane/Finch, York University) - Jenelle Regnier-Davies: jregnier-davies@hotmail.com

York Centre Ward 10, Councillor James Pasternak (Westminster-Branson, Bathurst Manor, Clanton Park) - <open>

Facebook group ward 13/14

Parkdale-High Park Ward 13, Councillor Sarah Doucette (Baby Point, Bloor West Village, High Park, The Junction, Swansea, Runnymede, Warren Park) - Constance Dykun: cdykun@rogers.com

Parkdale-High Park Ward 14, Councillor Gord Perks (Parkdale, Roncesvalles) - Katherine Martin: parkdalefoodnetwork@greenestcity.ca

Eglinton-Lawrence Ward 15, Councillor Josh Colle (Lawrence Heights, Lotherton, Marleeville, Yorkdale) - Orla Hegarty: ohegarty@gmail.com

Eglinton-Lawrence Ward 16, Councillor Karen Stintz (Forest Hill, Lawrence Park, Bedford Park-Nortown)

Facebook group ward 15/16

Davenport Ward 18, Councillor Ana Bailao (Dufferin Grove Park, Junction Triangle, Brockton Village) - Jaimie Stagg: jaimieleigh.stagg@utoronto.ca

Trinity-Spadina Ward 19/20, Councillors Mike Layton (Christie Pits, Little Italy, Trinity-Bellwoods, Liberty Village) 

Trinity-Spadina Ward 20, Councillor Adam Vaughan (Annex, University of Toronto, Chinatown, Kensington Market, Alexandra Park, Queens Quay)

Facebook group ward 19/20

St. Paul's Ward 21, Councillor Joe Mihevc (Wychwood, Bathurst/Eglinton, Cedarvale) - Paolo Granelli: paolo@extrashare.org

Willowdale Ward 23, Councillor John Filion (Newtonbrook, Willowdale, Lansing) - Jessica Pang: jessicaspparks@gmail.com

Willowdale Ward 24, Councillor David Shiner (Hillcrest Village, Don Valley Village, Bayview Woods-Steeles)

Facebook group ward 23/24

Don Valley West Ward 25, Councillor Jaye Robinson (York Mills, Bridle Path, Don Mills) - Denna Berg: denna.berg@gmail.com

Don Valley West Ward 26, Councillor John Parker (Thorncliffe Park, Flemingdon Park, Leaside) - Sabina Ali: sali@thorncliffe.org

Facebook group - ward 25/26

Toronto-Centre Ward 27, Councillors Kristyn Wong-Tam (Yorkville, Church-Wellesley, Bay-Yonge, Rosedale, Moore Park, Ryerson University, Garden District) - Darcy Higgins: darcy@pushfoodforward.com

Toronto-Centre Ward 28, Councillor Pam McConnell (St. James Town, Cabbagetown, Regent Park, Moss Park, Toronto Islands, St. Lawrence) - Rani Glick: raniglick@sympatico.ca

Facebook group - ward 27/28

Toronto-Danforth Ward 29, Councillor Mary Fragedakis (Danforth Village, Playter Estates, Broadview North) - Yvonne Mazurak: yvonnemazurak@gmail.com

Toronto-Danforth Ward 30, Councillor Paula Fletcher (Riverdale, Leslieville, Cherry Beach, East Chinatown) - Danielle Franz: danielle_franz@hotmail.com

Facebook group - ward 29/30

Beaches-East York Ward 31, Councillor Janet Davis (Cresent Town, Woodbine-Lumsden, Danforth Village, Old East York, O'Connoe-Lumsden) - Ziadh Rabbani: zrabbani@accessalliance.ca

Beaches-East York Ward 32, Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon (The Beach, Danforth East, Beach Hill, Gerrard Indian Bazaar) - Mary-Margaret McMahon: councillor_mcmahon@toronto.ca

Don Valley East Ward 33, Councillor Shelley Carroll (Don Valley Village, Pleasantview, Don Valley Village) - Bronwyn Underhill: bunderhill@fhc-chc.com

Scarborough Southwest Ward 35, Councillor Michelle Berardinetti (Clairlea, Birchmount, Kennedy Park) - Ziadh Rabbani: zrabbani@accessalliance.ca

Scarborough Centre Ward 37, Councillor Michael Thompson (Wexford, Maryvale, Ionview, Dorset Park) - Toyin Vanessa Coker: tppgta@gmail.com

Scarborough Agrincourt Ward 40, Councillor Kelly (L'Amoreaux, Tam O'Shanter-Sullivan, Agrincourt south) - Lowell Lo: llo@lowelllodesign.com

Scarborough-Rouge River Ward 42, Councillor Raymond Cho (Malvern, Rougeville, Morningside Heights, Toronto Zoo, Rouge Park) - Alex Dow: adow@mfrc.org

Scarborough-East Ward 43, Councillor Paul Ainslie (Guildwood Village, Curran Hall, Seven Oaks, Coronation and West Hill) - Rebecca Price: rebeckah.price@gmail.com

For other areas, contact Darcy Higgins (darcy@pushfoodforward.com) or visit our general Facebook group Food Forward or from the resources at the links above. If you'd like to be a rep find, more info here. The Toronto Food Policy Council or your area Community Health Centres are also great resources.